MSHA Part 48(b) New Miner Training

The MSHA New Miner Training is an introductory course for newly employed and inexperienced miners or individual contractors needing to conduct work at a mine site. 

Who Should Attend

Newly employed, inexperienced miners.

Course Outline

Topics included in the course: 15-Minute Rule, Accident Prevention, Confined Spaces, Conveyor Safety, Electrical Hazards, Equipment/Machine Guarding, Escape and Emergency Evacuation Procedures, Explosives, Fall Protection and Prevention, Fire Warning and Firefighting, First Aid, Ground Control and Highwall Safety, Hazard Recognition, Hazard Communication, Health (Dust and Noise), Health and Safety Aspects of Assigned Task, Job Safety Analysis, Ladder Safety, Lock-Out/Tag-Out, Mandatory Safety and Health Standards, Miners' Rights and Responsibilities, MSHA Rules to Live By, Personal Protective Equipment, Self-Rescue and Respiratory Devices, Substance Abuse Prevention, Surface Powered Haulage, Welding Hazards

Outcomes

Completion of the 24-hour course, MSHA Part 48(b) New Miner Training Certificate of Completion, MSHA 5000-23 Form

Prerequisites

none.

Association

Mine Safety and Health Administration (MSHA).

Register Now

Wednesday, August 10, 2016 to Friday, August 12, 2016

8:00 am to 5:00 pm

Instructor: Peggy Merritt
UT JJ Pickle Research Campus

$350

Wednesday, September 14, 2016 to Friday, September 16, 2016

8:00 am to 5:00 pm

Instructor: Peggy Merritt
UT JJ Pickle Research Campus

$350

Wednesday, October 19, 2016 to Friday, October 21, 2016

8:00 am to 5:00 pm

UT JJ Pickle Research Campus

$350

Wednesday, November 9, 2016 to Friday, November 11, 2016

8:00 am to 5:00 pm

Instructor: Peggy Merritt
UT JJ Pickle Research Campus

$350

Wednesday, December 7, 2016 to Friday, December 9, 2016

8:00 am to 5:00 pm

Instructor: Peggy Merritt
UT JJ Pickle Research Campus

$350